About the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

A DofE programme is a real adventure from beginning to end. It doesn’t matter who you are or where you’re from. You just need to be aged between 14 and 24 and realise there’s more to life than sitting on a sofa watching life pass you by.

You can do programmes at 3 levels: Bronze, Silver or Gold, which leads to you achieving the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award. We offer training for all 3 levels here at Swakeleys!

You can achieve an Award by completing a personal programme of activities in 4 sections (5 for Gold!).

You’ll find yourself helping people or the community, getting fitter, developing skills, going on an expedition… and also taking part in a residential activity if you’re going for Gold. But the best bit is; you get to choose what you do!

More information about the Award, and the possible activities for the sections of the award can be found by clicking on the documents listed below.

What is the DofE – A Guide for Participants and Parents

Value of the DofE to Employers

Programme Ideas – Physical

Programme Ideas – Skills

Programme Ideas – Volunteering

Programme Ideas – Residential

DofE Expedition Kit List